Khota Paisa

The (mis)Service of Insurance Agents

Posted in General by khotapaisa on June 5, 2009

I am sure you people would have encountered several problems while dealing with your respective insurance agents. Once they sell the policy, they tend to forget that we are still customers. That they still get commossion out of the premiums we pay. That their job is not just selling but also servicing the policies. 

Few months back I took an insurance policy from an agent( from Bajaj Capital). I went thru him because I thought that even if he doesn’t service policy related issues later, I can always go to Bajaj Capital directly. So, I took this policy and it turned out that my name was misspelt on the policy document. When I told him about it, he asked me to go to insurer’s head-office in person. He said that I had to be present in person. So I went to the office only to be told that there was no need for me to come and the agent should have taken care of it. Since I was in a long waiting queue, I came back and gave the policy document to my agent asking hin to get it corrected. He assured me that it will be done in a day or two. It has been more than 10 days since. All my efforts to reach him have come to a naught. I am now planning to talk to Bajaj Capital directly about it. Lets see how much more time & effort it takes before the issue is resolved. Meanwhile, I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

